DPG and Wetpixel are proud to announce the winners of this year’s Our World Underwater International Underwater Photography and Video Competition, which were officially revealed at the Our World Underwater dive show in Chicago this weekend.

Once again, our celebrity panel of judges—Alex Mustard, Erin Quigley, Keri Wilk, and Lia Barrett—poured over thousands of entries taken by novice to professional photographers from around the world. Some $55,000 in awesome gear and dive travel prizes were up for grabs, including $1,000 cash for the “Best of Show” image.

In the end, it was Canadian photographer Shane Gross who won big, clinching not just “Best of Show” for his arresting first place image of a trio of seahorses from the Macro Traditional category, but also first place in the Wide Angle Traditional category. Clinching Gold in the contest’s two most challenging categories is truly an impressive feat—very well done, Shane! Our congratulations to all the winners—and honorable mentions—in the various categories.

The full set of winning images can be found on the UnderwaterCompetition.com site.

Silver – Macro Traditional by Anders Nyberg

Bronze – Macro Traditional by Enrico Somogyi

Honorable Mention – Macro Traditional by Adriano Morettin

Gold – Macro Unrestricted by Songda Cai

Silver – Macro Unrestricted by Songda Cai

Bronze – Macro Unrestricted by Anders Nyberg

Honorable Mention – Macro Unrestricted by Davide Lopresti

Gold – Wide Angle Traditional by Shane Gross

Silver – Wide Angle Traditional by Eduardo Acevedo

Bronze – Wide Angle Unrestricted by Jason Sintek

Gold – Wide Angle Unrestricted by Greg Lecoeur

Silver – Wide Angle Unrestricted by David Salvatori

Bronze – Wide Angle Unrestricted by Greg Lecoeur

Honorable Mention – Wide Angle Unrestricted by Renee Capozzola

Gold – Compact Cameras by Enrico Somogyi

Silver – Compact Cameras by Enrico Somogyi

Bronze – Compact Cameras by Sarah Vasend

Honorable Mention – Compact Cameras by Ari Nieminen

Gold – Black & White by Vaclav Krpelik

Silver – Black & White by Greg Lecoeur

Bronze – Black & White by Pedro Carrillo

Honorable Mention – Black & White by J.R. Sosky

Gold – Video by Lee Burghard

Silver – Video by Alex Lindbloom

Bronze – Video by Sascha Janson

Article originally written by Ian Bongso-Seldrup, February 18, 2018 @ 06:00 AM (EST)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *